Sign Up

Have an account? Sign In Now

Sign In

Forgot Password?

Don't have account, Sign Up Here

Forgot Password

Lost your password? Please enter your email address. You will receive a link and will create a new password via email.

Have an account? Sign In Now

You must login to ask question.

Forgot Password?

Need An Account, Sign Up Here

You must login to add post.

Forgot Password?

Need An Account, Sign Up Here

Please briefly explain why you feel this question should be reported.

Please briefly explain why you feel this answer should be reported.

Passionable Logo Passionable Logo
Sign InSign Up

Passionable

Passionable Navigation

  • Home
  • About Us
  • Blog
  • Contact Us
Search
Ask A Question

Mobile menu

Close
Ask a Question
  • Home
  • Add group
  • Groups page
  • Feed
  • User Profile
  • Communities
  • Questions
  • Polls
  • Tags
  • Badges
  • Buy Points
  • Users
  • Help
  • New Questions
  • Trending Questions
  • Must read Questions
  • Hot Questions
Home/ Questions/Q 865
In Process
Alek Richter
  • 0
Alek RichterEnlightened
Asked: October 28, 20212021-10-28T09:23:56+00:00 2021-10-28T09:23:56+00:00

How can one use the Shape Water cantrip offensively? [closed]

  • 0

The shape water cantrip description says:

You choose an area of water that you can see within range and that fits within a 5-foot cube. You manipulate it in one of the following ways:

  • You move the water up to 5 feet in any direction. This movement doesn’t cause damage.
  • You cause the water to form into simple shapes and animate. This change lasts for 1 hour.
  • You change the water’s color or opacity. This change lasts for 1 hour.
  • You freeze the water, provided there are no creatures in it. The water unfreezes in 1 hour.
  • If you cast this spell multiple times, you can have no more than two of its non-instantaneous effects active at a time, and you can dismiss such an effect as an action

Following those rules I can think of several ways you could use shape water in an offensive way (a few of them are pushing it, though):

  1. Take the water and move it onto the head of the creature within 5 feet of the point of origin, thereby drowning them.
  2. Move the water above the head of the enemy freeze it and drop it onto their head or don’t freeze it and have enough volume or height. (got that idea from transmute rock).
  3. Turn the water into a weapon made of ice and attack with it.
  4. Turn the water into a cube of ice, shatter it, then launch the shards at an enemy. (Basically a grenade only 100x more awesome).
  5. Depending on the DMs interpretation of how freezing and unfreezing the water works you could say that you simply raise or lower it’s temperature. So you could say heat the water to boiling temperatures then throw it at the enemy.

How else does one use shape water offensively, so that it deals damage?

  • 1 1 Answer
  • 0 Views
  • 0 Followers
  • 0
    • Report
  • Share
    Share
    • Share on Facebook
    • Share on Twitter
    • Share on LinkedIn
    • Share on WhatsApp

1 Answer

  • Voted
  • Oldest
  • Recent
  • Random
  1. Alek Richter Enlightened
    2021-10-28T09:24:16+00:00Added an answer on October 28, 2021 at 9:24 am

    Shape Water cannot be used offensively… unless the DM allows it.

    In the D&D 5E system, it is assumed that spells, and most other game mechanics, do only what the rules say they do. If a spell’s description does not mention some effect (such as being used for damage or utility), then as far as the rules are concerned, the spell cannot do it.

    Sometimes this may seem unrealistic, such as fire spells that don’t emit light. But then again, if you consider game elements like magic, bards, catfolk, and carnivorous treasure chests, it’s evident that D&D isn’t meant to simulate or prioritize realism. D&D is driven by its own game mechanics and abstractions.

    The Shape Water cantrip says nothing about attack rolls or dealing damage, so by the RAW (rules as written), it cannot be used offensively.

    However, the DM can override the RAW rulings in their games. If you can convince the DM to let you use Shape Water for some offense purpose, then it’s possible that the DM will allow it. But this will depend on your DM. Since the RAW don’t give guidelines for the equivalent offensive value of Shape Water, the DM would decide what sort of damage effect it can achieve.

    • 0
    • Reply
    • Share
      Share
      • Share on Facebook
      • Share on Twitter
      • Share on LinkedIn
      • Share on WhatsApp
      • Report
Leave an answer

Leave an answer
Cancel reply

Browse

Sidebar

Ask A Question

Stats

  • Questions 4k
  • Answers 4k
  • Best Answers 0
  • Users 200
  • Popular
  • Answers
  • Alek Richter

    How do I add sockets to an item?

    • 2 Answers
  • Alek Richter

    Dialog throwing "Unable to add window — token null is ...

    • 2 Answers
  • Alek Richter

    Is the Glamour College Bard's Mantle of Inspiration Overpowered?

    • 2 Answers
  • Alek Richter
    Alek Richter added an answer Pandas DataFrame columns are Pandas Series when you pull them… January 13, 2022 at 2:21 pm
  • Alek Richter
    Alek Richter added an answer The handshake failure could have occurred due to various reasons:… January 13, 2022 at 2:19 pm
  • Alek Richter
    Alek Richter added an answer Mac OS X doesn't have apt-get. There is a package… January 13, 2022 at 2:18 pm

Top Members

Alek Richter

Alek Richter

  • 4k Questions
  • 1k Points
Enlightened
fayemolloy0

fayemolloy0

  • 0 Questions
  • 20 Points
Begginer
NikolaZex

NikolaZex

  • 0 Questions
  • 20 Points
Begginer

Trending Tags

questin question

Explore

  • Home
  • Add group
  • Groups page
  • Communities
  • Questions
  • Polls
  • Tags
  • Badges
  • Users
  • Help
  • New Questions
  • Trending Questions
  • Must read Questions
  • Hot Questions

© 2021 Passionable. All Rights Reserved

Insert/edit link

Enter the destination URL

Or link to existing content

    No search term specified. Showing recent items. Search or use up and down arrow keys to select an item.