If someone casts the dissonant whispers spell on my halfling, how does it interact with the halfling’s Brave trait?
- I roll 2d20 for the advantage, and this “succeed or fail the save” result is directly applied to the entire spell.
- I roll 2d20, but I roll them “in order” (we use 2 different colors to tell which is d20 #1 and d20 #2), and the result is applied to the spell’s effects, checking if the advantage dice applies or not to each effect separately – meaning that both d20s are used for advantage only against the specific “vs. frightened condition” part of the spell, while only the the result of the 1st d20 (aka “I do not have advantage”) is used against the damage part of the spell.
All players think it should be done the 1st way. Simple enough, right?
But the DM says that it “obviously” has to be done the 2nd way, while also insisting that this is not a house rule, but that this is the real “RAW” way to interpret how advantage on saving throws works.