Sign Up

Have an account? Sign In Now

Sign In

Forgot Password?

Don't have account, Sign Up Here

Forgot Password

Lost your password? Please enter your email address. You will receive a link and will create a new password via email.

Have an account? Sign In Now

You must login to ask question.

Forgot Password?

Need An Account, Sign Up Here

You must login to add post.

Forgot Password?

Need An Account, Sign Up Here

Please briefly explain why you feel this question should be reported.

Please briefly explain why you feel this answer should be reported.

Passionable Logo Passionable Logo
Sign InSign Up

Passionable

Passionable Navigation

  • Home
  • About Us
  • Blog
  • Contact Us
Search
Ask A Question

Mobile menu

Close
Ask a Question
  • Home
  • Add group
  • Groups page
  • Feed
  • User Profile
  • Communities
  • Questions
  • Polls
  • Tags
  • Badges
  • Buy Points
  • Users
  • Help
  • New Questions
  • Trending Questions
  • Must read Questions
  • Hot Questions
Home/ Questions/Q 1749
In Process
Alek Richter
  • 0
Alek RichterEnlightened
Asked: November 8, 20212021-11-08T04:52:09+00:00 2021-11-08T04:52:09+00:00

When using a reach weapon, which squares around me can I attack?

  • 0

Considering a medium creature, with 5ft of reach, wielding a reach weapon such as a longspear.

By the rules:

With a typical reach weapon, you can strike opponents 10 feet away, but you can’t strike adjacent foes (those within 5 feet).

Squares within 5 feet would be all adjacent squares to the creature, including diagonal ones (first diagonal being counted at 5ft).

It appears clear that the weapon will allow attacks into four squares: those 5ft away from the creature in the north, east, south and west directions. They are 2 squares away in a straight line, thus 10ft away, within reach.

But now, what about the squares diagonally away, beyond 5ft, north-east, south-east, south-west and north-west of the creature? According to the rules, the second square of a diagonal line is considered 15ft away when it comes to movement. Does this also apply to attack distances?

Also, what about squares reachable by going diagonally once, then straight up/down/left/right? This would usually count at 10ft of movement, so are they attackable?

Here’s a diagram:??X????XCX????X??

C is the creature, blank spaces are where I assume you cannot attack, Xs are where I assume you can attack and ?

s are where I’m not sure you can.

In searching for answers to this, I’ve come across an interesting point on the Paizo forums. If you are in one of the far corners and you consider these not threatened, then you can diagonally move towards the character and never provoke an AOO (that is, per RAW)… and yet, logically, a threatened area should make an uninterrupted circle around the creature. This may explain why 3.5 made an exception out of this.

  • 1 1 Answer
  • 0 Views
  • 0 Followers
  • 0
    • Report
  • Share
    Share
    • Share on Facebook
    • Share on Twitter
    • Share on LinkedIn
    • Share on WhatsApp

1 Answer

  • Voted
  • Oldest
  • Recent
  • Random
  1. Alek Richter Enlightened
    2021-11-08T04:53:48+00:00Added an answer on November 8, 2021 at 4:53 am

    You lose some corners for longer reaches.

    The lavender-and-green graphics toward the bottom of this page exactly illustrate how reaching on a diagnonal works.

    In reference to the FAQ comments by James Jacobs and Sean K Reynolds, I believe they are 100% compatible with this diagram:

    Jacobs answers the question “Can one attack someone 15′ away on a diagonal?” Answer: No.
    Reynolds answers the question “Does that means one can sneak in on the diagnonal, somehow moving from 15′ away to 5′ away without passing through intervening space?” Answer: Also no. You still trigger an AoO as you pass from 10′ to 5′ away, even though there isn’t a square for 10′ away on the grid.

    Regarding differences for creatures that’re long instead of tall, the lavender-and-green reach charts toward the end of the page give examples of both. Essentially the only difference is that long creatures tend to have less reach than a tall creature of the same size.

    • 0
    • Reply
    • Share
      Share
      • Share on Facebook
      • Share on Twitter
      • Share on LinkedIn
      • Share on WhatsApp
      • Report
Leave an answer

Leave an answer
Cancel reply

Browse

Sidebar

Ask A Question

Stats

  • Questions 4k
  • Answers 4k
  • Best Answers 0
  • Users 200
  • Popular
  • Answers
  • Alek Richter

    How do I update/upgrade pip itself from inside my virtual ...

    • 2 Answers
  • Alek Richter

    Truth value of a Series is ambiguous. Use a.empty, a.bool(), ...

    • 2 Answers
  • Alek Richter

    What is a NullPointerException, and how do I fix it?

    • 2 Answers
  • Alek Richter
    Alek Richter added an answer Pandas DataFrame columns are Pandas Series when you pull them… January 13, 2022 at 2:21 pm
  • Alek Richter
    Alek Richter added an answer The handshake failure could have occurred due to various reasons:… January 13, 2022 at 2:19 pm
  • Alek Richter
    Alek Richter added an answer Mac OS X doesn't have apt-get. There is a package… January 13, 2022 at 2:18 pm

Top Members

Alek Richter

Alek Richter

  • 4k Questions
  • 1k Points
Enlightened
fayemolloy0

fayemolloy0

  • 0 Questions
  • 20 Points
Begginer
NikolaZex

NikolaZex

  • 0 Questions
  • 20 Points
Begginer

Trending Tags

questin question

Explore

  • Home
  • Add group
  • Groups page
  • Communities
  • Questions
  • Polls
  • Tags
  • Badges
  • Users
  • Help
  • New Questions
  • Trending Questions
  • Must read Questions
  • Hot Questions

© 2021 Passionable. All Rights Reserved

Insert/edit link

Enter the destination URL

Or link to existing content

    No search term specified. Showing recent items. Search or use up and down arrow keys to select an item.